Pinterest has recently added a feature that allows you to block other users. This means users have the power to clear their stream of content they don’t want to see. Creating opportunities for hyper-targeted content to become more successful.
How to Block Users
To block a user on Pinterest, merely select the flag icon on the bottom-right corner of a user’s profile. If the user is posting inappropriate content, you can also report them.
What Happens When You Block
When you block a user, they will not be notified unless they try to follow you or interact with your posts. The blocked user won’t be able to see your content, and you won’t be able to see theirs. If you were following the blocked user or vice versa, you will automatically unfollow them, and any comments the two of you sent to one another will be deleted. However, repins and likes will not be removed. You might still be able to see a blocked user’s content on search results, category pages, or group boards.
Changes for Businesses
You wouldn’t think that the ability for Pinterest users to block people would help brands; but because people now have more control over the content you see, it makes targeting a specific demographic increasingly vital.
More Control for Users
Relevant content is content that increases engagement with users, which takes the form of repins, likes, comments, and the like. Pinterest allows you to forge a stronger connection with your userbase than other social platforms. And users on Pinterest are more likely to buy from brands that they interact with on the site.
How Pinterest is Better Than Twitter & Facebook
Pinterest generates about 12.5 times more engagement than Facebook and 14 times more than Twitter. And the value per follower of Pinterest is only going up.